Wintry beef and Guinness stew

Wintry beef and Guinness stew

(Based on Bill’s Wintry beef and ale stew)

Dedicated to my darling daughter

img_2927

This was Sara’s Christmas present to me

 

img_2961

She worked at Bill’s in Watford for a while

In her dedication, Sara said I would make the recipes with a twist. The original recipe is called “Wintry beef and ale stew”. I used Guinness instead.

  • 750g stewing beef, cut into bite-size chunks
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 4 sticks of celery, sliced
  • 2 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 large ripe tomato, chopped
  • 1 can Guinness
img_2963

I only remembered to take a photo after I had crushed the can!

  • salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil

  • pour a drop of oil into a big pan, heat until almost smoking, seal the meat in batches and put on one side

  • add a drop more oil to the pan, add onion and gently fry until golden brown and then add the garlic, carrot and celery
  • put the meat back in the pan
  • add the Guinness
  • then add the tomato, season, cover with water and bring to the boil
  • reduce heat to a minimum and cook for 1 1/2 – 2 hours until meat is tender and sauce has thickened
img_2982

I served it with curried couscous


Bill did his stew in the oven

 

 

 

Leave a comment